Scare-athon! 1-10

It’s Halloween (I mean October), and with the spookiest month of the year also comes my annual Scare-athon. The rules are these: watch as many horror movies as you possibly can within thirty-one days. The number to beat in 2016 is 40, so I have miles to go before I sleep, and (since I already burned through a lot of the classics last year) significantly fewer well-known horrors to choose from. Still, I’ve been watching an ungodly number of scary flicks since September left us and will continue to do so until the clock strikes midnight on October 31st. But since I can’t turn them all into reviews, I’ll fill ya’ll in ten at a time until I reach my goal of 41. Cheers, and happy Halloween!

1. KRAMPUS

tumblr_nz5j7zeeal1rp0vkjo1_500

2. SICKHOUSE

giphy-1

3. ATM (2012): An ominous stranger corners three people in an ATM booth. Interesting concept, solid performances by the actors, good twist. Bonus: It has Josh Peck in it. B.

x1603257.jpg.pagespeed.ic.lnUvQ0uHzJ.jpg

4. SE7EN (1995): More of a crime drama than a horror, but points for keeping me on the hook. Great movie. Terrible ending. A.

raw.gif

5. TRICK R’ TREAT (2007): Follows the lives of four people on one Halloween night. I have literally never seen a movie with such contrived dialogue. A 7th grade English teacher could sneeze on a piece of paper and come up with a better plot. F.

2007_trick_r_treat_027.jpg

6. MISERY (1990): After an accident injures a famous author, he is held captive by an unstable fan. I love me some Stephen King. Dangerous, full of surprises, and it hit me where it hurts. A.

giphy.gif

7. V/H/S (2012): A group of criminals find a strange collection of VHS tapes. It’s like they handed each actor a vague summary instead of a script. Plot(s) was (were?) all over the place. D.

tumblr_nxgsyqwOom1s1vn29o4_r1_500.gif

8. PONTYPOOL (2008): A zombie virus is spread through certain “infected” words within the English language. Extremely inventive concept. I wish they did more with it. B+.

Pontypool+poster.jpg

9. THE AMITYVILLE HORROR (1979): The original Couple Moves Into A Haunted House movie. Had that “classic” vibe. I didn’t think it was all that scary, but it used to freak my mom out when she was a kid. I can see that. B.

amityville_horror_the_1979_di.jpg

10. MY BLOODY VALENTINE (1981): A former miner protests the annual Valentine’s Day Dance (which falls on the anniversary of a mine collapse) by committing murder. Fun concept, in the same way that the idea of Krampus was fun before it was put into practice. Somehow, this one worked. B.

my-bloody-valentine-card_758_426_81_s_c1.jpg

3 Comments Add yours

  1. mindofmo says:

    Yes!!!! I love this time of year, especially for the scary movies. I just made a list of my top 11 scariest, in case you need to add to your “to watch” list 🙂
    https://themindofmoblog.com/2016/10/14/eleven-movies-that-will-genuinely-scare-you/

    Like

    1. rockafansky says:

      Oo yes! I watched Sinister for the first time today and loved it. The Uninvited and Devil look particularly awesome, going on my list for sure. Thank you for the suggestions!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. mindofmo says:

        The Uninvited is SO good!

        Like

Leave a Reply

